You forgot, I have Allah


salah

 

One day a sister was visiting a new aquaintance.  As they got to know each other better, Amal asked her new friend, “Nadine, tell me about your husband, how did you meet?”  “My husband and I divorced several years ago, al hamdulillah, but I am doing fine” said Nadine.

  “Then surely you have the comfort and companionship of your children.  How many do you have?” ” I was never blessed with children either, al hamdulillah” replied Nadine.  Upon sensing the inner sorrow Amal tried to give comfort, “Oh I am sorry to hear that, I am sure you would have been a great mother.  Surely you have the comfort of your parents.”  “Both of my parents have passed on from this life, al hamdulillah” said Nadine.

Shocked, Amal continued…”Well I guess you have the companionship of your brothers and sisters.  I remember you told me you had a large family.  Inshallah they visit you often.”

“All of my siblings live in different countries, I am here alone al hamdulillah” replied Nadine again.

“Stop!” shouted Amal, “Its too much to bear hearing all of this. You are so alone here in this country!  All what you have are  your co-workers and a few good friends.  How can you stand it!

Patiently Nadine looked at her new friend and considered her words carefully then replied, “But Amal you have forgotten one important thing,  I have Allah subhanna wa ta’ala and He is enough of a sustainer for my affairs, Al hamdulillah.

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُواْ اسْتَعِينُواْ بِالصَّبْرِ وَالصَّلاَةِ إِنَّ اللّهَ مَعَ الصَّابِرِينَ 
O ye who believe! seek help with patient perseverance and prayer; for Allah is with those who patiently persevere.

 

Supplication for one afflicted by a calamity

 

‘To Allah we belong and unto Him is our return. O Allah, recompense me for my affliction and replace it for me with something better.’

 

Allah ta’ala says in Suratul Baqarah ayat 155-156:

وَلَنَبْلُوَنَّكُمْ بِشَيْءٍ مِّنَ الْخَوْفِ وَالْجُوعِ وَنَقْصٍ مِّنَ الأَمْوَالِ وَالأنفُسِ وَالثَّمَرَاتِ وَبَشِّرِ الصَّابِرِينَ
الَّذِينَ إِذَا أَصَابَتْهُم مُّصِيبَةٌ قَالُواْ إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعونَ

“And we shall surely test you with something of fear and hunger and a loss of wealth and lives and fruits, but give good tidings to the patient, Who, when disaster strikes them, say, ‘indeed we belong to Allah, and indeed to Him we will return’”

 

This story and the verse above encourage us to be patient with what Allah has chosen for us and to know that each of us has trial to face in this life.  What one person can deal with, another of us would say oh its unbearable, but we need to keep in mind the verse in the Quran where Allah swt tells us that no soul shall be burdened with more than what it can bear.   “On no soul does God place a burden greater than it can bear .” —2:286

   So if we feel we are at the end of our rope, we should realize, by placing faith in Allah swt, we have the best of sustainers and for sure He will give us  more rope as long as we hold on to our deen and our faith!

sakina-and-sara

Leave a Reply

