How I Found Islam


 

 

This is the story of how I found Islam.

 

My name is Abdullah DeLancey. I am Canadian and I am employed as a Patient Service Worker at the local Hospital. I have been married for almost 20 years and we have 3 wonderful children.

Alhamdulillah. I am a now a Muslim. I wasn’t always a Muslim though. Previously; I was a Protestant Christian for all of my life. My family brought me up in the Pentecostal Church until I was an adult at which time I moved to a fundamental IndependentBaptist Church. As a faithful Christian I was very involved at Church, giving lectures for the Adult Sunday School and other duties. I was eventually elected as the Deacon of the Church. I really wanted to further my dedication to God and decided to pursue a career as a Minister. I was awarded a scholarship to help me start taking a Degree in Divinity. My goal was to be a Pastor of a Church or a Missionary.

 

 However, becoming a Minister would commit me and my whole family to the Church full time for life. So just before attending Bible College, I thought it best to look at Christianity critically and ask some very serious questions about my faith. I questioned the trinity, why God would need a son, and why the human sacrifice of Jesus, as stated in the bible, was needed to provide me with forgiveness. I questioned the Christian belief of how all the righteous people in the Old Testament were “saved” and in heaven if Jesus wasn’t even born yet. I pondered serious questions about Christianity that I had neglected to ask my whole life. The answers I received from Christians on these theological issues “which are the basis of the faith in Christianity” defied all reason and were absolutely beyond any logical thinking. Why would God give us a wonderful brain and then expect us to temporarily stop using it? Because that is what Christianity is asking people to do when they say you just must have faith. That is blind faith.

 

 Realizing that I had always accepted Christianity, with Blind faith for my entire life and never had questioned it was perplexing to me. How could I have not realized this before?   I could not find the answers in the Bible. Once I realized that the trinity was a myth and that God is powerful enough to “save” someone without the need for help from a son or anyone or anything else. Things changed. My entire faith in Christianity fell apart. I could no longer believe in Christianity or be a Christian. I left the Church for good and my wife dutifully left with me, as she was having trouble accepting Christianity too.
This was the start of my spiritual journey.

 

I was now without a Religion but believed in a God. This was a very hard time for me and my family as Christianity was all we had ever known. I had to search for the truth.

 

I began studying various religions and found them as false one after another. Until, I heard about Islam. Islam!!! What was that? As far as I could remember, I had never known a Muslim and Islam was not heard or spoken of “as a faith” in my part of Canada. Unless, of course, it was news stories talking bad about Islam. For me at that time, Islam was not even a consideration. Not on my religious radar at all.

 

But then I started to read a little about Islam. Then, I kept reading a little more. Then, I read the Quran. This wonderful revelation of truth has changed my life forever. I immediately started to study ever piece of information pertaining to Islam I could get my hands on. I discovered the nearest Mosque was about 100 miles away from my city. So I promptly loaded the family van and drove my family to this Mosque. On the way, I was very nervous but also very excited at the same time..

 

I asked myself. Was I even allowed in the Mosque because I wasn’t an Arab or a Muslim ? However after arriving at the Mosque I quickly realized I had nothing to fear. I was greeted by the Imam and the Muslims with a most warm greeting. I found them very nice. Nothing like the bad things the news always said about Muslims. They gave me a book by Ahmed Deedat and assured me I could be a Muslim. I studied all the material on Islam they gave me. I appreciated these books very much because our local library had only 4 books on Islam. After studying I was in shock. How could I have been a Christian for so long and never heard the truth. I now believed in Islam. I knew it and I wanted to convert. I was put in contact with the small Muslim community in my city.

 

On March 24th 2006 I went to the Mosque. Just before Friday prayer started and with most of the local Muslim Community present as witness. I testified that” La illaha ill Allah,Muhammadur Rasul Allah” “There is no God but Allah, Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah. I was now a Muslim. It was the best day of my life.  I love Islam and have peace now.

 

Difficult times have come since I became a Muslim. When people started realizing I was now a Muslim they would shun me or laugh at me, most of our old Christian friends have never talked to us again. My parents have all but disowned me. I love being a Muslim and it doesn’t matter if some of my fellow Canadians think of me as odd for becoming a Muslim. Why? The reason is that I alone, am the one that will have to answer to Allah after my death. Allah is the giver of strength and all mighty Allah has helped me through all the rough times after my conversion to Islam. I have many, many Muslim Brothers now. I have legally changed my first name to Abdullah, which I like very much. I am now the first and only Muslim Chaplain approved to work at the local hospital in my City.
I am a Muslim and I am truly happy. All Thanks be to Allah.

That is how I became a Muslim. Islam is right for you too. Maybe you are not just randomly reading this article by chance. Maybe you already believe Allah is the one and only true God. Do you want to have life and become a Muslim right now.  It is a big step.

But the best step you will ever take. Once you have decided that Islam is the truth. The only thing you must do to become a Muslim is truly believe and freely testify that “There is no God but Allah, Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah. Testify to this truth with me now. Become Muslim and have life.

 

Abdullah DeLancey founder of muslimforlife.com

 

3 Responses to How I Found Islam

  1. revromansky says:

    So you left Christianity for a faith that has killed millions of Christians in the last decade. You should really reconsider.

    There is no God but Jehovah, Moses is his prophet, and Jesus is his only begotten Son.

    Jesus loves you

    RevRomansky

  2. Sakina & Sara says:

    I appreciate you reading my articles, however, whether you choose to call Him Jehovah, or God, or Dieu if you are French, or Gott if you are German or Allah if you are Arabic be it Christian or Muslim, He is one and only one and yes Moses is ONE of His prophets as well as Abraham, Issac, Noah, Jesus and lastly Mohammed, who is by the way fortold of in the Bible. Yes I am sure Jesus loves all of the followers of God and any of the Prophets would. But that does not mean that he is God the Eternal and Almighty, the one whom we should worship. That is the main difference, Islam asks only for pure and singular monotheism.

    Secondly, the faith of Islam did not kill millions of Christians, misguided so called “Muslims” have. Just because someone proclaims a faith does not mean they really represent it and actually what they have done is hijack the islamic faith and totally misrepresented it to the public around the world. And God Almighty will hold them accountable on the day of judgement, as we all will be for our own actions.

    Also if you will see the posts of many many Muslim sites you will find that all true Islamic sites denounce the actions and behaviors of such liars.

    Let me quote from the Quran itself.
    O you who believe, eat not up your property among yourselves unjustly except it be a trade amongst you, by mutual consent. And do not kill yourselves (nor one another). Surely Allah is most merciful to you.
    And who ever commits that through aggression and injustice We shall cast him into the Fire, and that is easy for Allah. 4:29-30 (We is the singular proper pronoun for Greatness, it does not indicate that God is plural, but rather showing His power and loftiness )

    This is only one place in the Quran about killing, but there are more, and one that if you take an innocent life it is as if you have killed all of humanity. So murder is a horrendous crime punished in hellfire. Yes there are some places where it says to kill but it is talking about a specific war/battle that they were engaged in at that specific time. Not to be applied to every single situation— but people like to — love to— take things out of context.

    Please educate yourself about the religion from reliable sites like islamhouse.com, or islamtomorrow.com, not based upon bad Muslims. Should we use Timothy as your typical Christian? I dont think so….

  3. M says:

    revromansky:

    I attended a late afternoon school function recently. During the event I had to go from one end of the school to the other in various buildings, across campus, from the first floor to the third. It was tiring but do-able. In the process I got lost.

    Student volunteers were everywhere to assist us in our searches for classrooms. Two young ladies asked me if I needed help in finding a location. I did.

    One of the two decided that since I appeared so worn out (I am fasting during this month of Ramadhan in September), she would accompany me to my destination. The young lady is 17 years old.

    She was very respectful, curious, and articulate in the many questions she asked me of why I converted to Islam. She told me of her own family which has many faith beliefs, including, Buddhists, Catholics, Christians, and Islam.

    I mentioned to her a little about the similarities her and I have of the diversity of faith choices in our families. I also have many different faith beliefs in my family, including, Baptist, Mormon, Judaism, and Islam.

    She reminded me of my family members who practice the NOT holier than thou attitude but who practice tolerance, respect, and love of all of mankind, no matter what choice they have made in their soul searchings of faith.

    You read as though you have embraced an attitude (not a religion) of intolerance, ignorance, and fear. This does not jive with the practices of the Christianity that I am very familiar with.

    Seriously Rev. Romansky, there is no need for you to feel threatened. Don’t let fear be your guide or your comfort food.

    The only thing you have to fear is fear itself.

    I urge you to go, seek knowledge of other faiths. What harm can it do? I never thought of education as a MINUS for mankind but as a PLUS.

    Imagine, getting along with your fellow wo/man kind? What a concept, huh?

    Again, there is no need to feel threatened as obviously you are cemented in your own faith.

    I’m not here to convert you or anyone else for that matter.

    Take a good long look at mankind’s history while you’re studying other faiths too. There has been a lot of loss of life, pain, and sorrow due to the ignorance of followers of faiths. And non faiths (communism, for example).

    You may also further educate yourself this Ramadhan by requesting an invitation to a local community function in your area to break fast ( as in eat a delicious dinner) with your American (I am guessing you are American) Muslim neighbors.

    Go to this website: http://www.cair.com/Home.aspx and click on the Chapters link in the upper right hand corner. From there seek a chapter that is in your city, state and email or call them with your request.

    In my small town we have had several non Muslim guests attend our masjid (mosque) over the years for such dinners. They have been very enjoyable for everyone.

    In fact, we are having guests attend our masjid several times this week. They include followers of Judaism and Christianity.

    Breaking bread with one another breaks so many barriers of misunderstandings and fears.

    Please do not take my suggestions or comments with a negative attitude but let us both remember this young 17 year old woman, who not only guided me to the proper classroom but was an inspiration to me as well of a person with a positive attitude, secure in her own beliefs and open to listening to mine at the same time with no feelings of being threatened.

    I would also encourage all non Muslimreaders who live in the United States and Canada to look up the links I mentioned and request an invitation for yourselves and your families. You are all very welcome to attend.

    Salams to you and your family Rev. Romansky.

Leave a Reply

